Let Go!

(1 Peter 5:7) “Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.”

I have been dealing with a spirit of anxiousness lately because I have been waiting for something I asked God for and He has told me He would give it to me. Time keeps moving and I’m still waiting and I feel like my time is running out (being overdramatic, I know). My mind is telling me that I need to do something about it, but in actuality there is nothing that I can do to change my situation on my own. It is all in God’s hands I tell myself, but I haven’t fully let go. I have told God many times in the past that I want His will for my life and thought I have given it to Him but I still haven’t fully let go. I can’t pray to God about an issue or concern and give it to Him and then take it back when it isn’t going the way I want it, when it isn’t done on my time period. The Bible reassures us in Philippians 4:6-7 “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. 7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

I was doing my daily Bible reading and God had a word waiting for me to calm my feelings of anxiousness. My word for the day came from reading Joshua Chapter 6. Joshua 6:17 says, “¶ And the city shall be accursed, even it, and all that are therein, to the LORD: only Rahab the harlot shall live, she and all that are with her in the house, because she hid the messengers that we sent.” I realized after reading this that Rahab was told earlier on (days ago) to put the scarlet thread in the window by the spies (Joshua 2:18 Behold, when we come into the land, thou shalt bind this line of scarlet thread in the window which thou didst let us down by: and thou shalt bring thy father, and thy mother, and thy brethren, and all thy father’s household, home unto thee.) so she and her family can be saved when they came back to overtake the city. She had to prepare beforehand and that preparation was being obedient and putting the scarlet thread in the window and waiting for the time to come. When her time came she was ready (Joshua 6:22-23 “But Joshua had said unto the two men that had spied out the country, Go into the harlot’s house, and bring out thence the woman, and all that she hath, as ye sware unto her. {23} And the young men that were spies went in, and brought out Rahab, and her father, and her mother, and her brethren, and all that she had; and they brought out all her kindred, and left them without the camp of Israel”) and when my time comes I will be ready. In my time of waiting all I need to do is continue to trust Him and be obedient because I’m being prepared for something great.

You may be going through a similar situation of waiting on God and as believers in Christ sometimes we need to be reminded to “Let Go” of those situations in life that we have no control over. Give it to God and leave it there, casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you (1 Peter 5:7).

All Scriptures KJV only.

One thought on “Let Go!

  1. Yes indeed. We all must give it to GOD and leave it there. I’m a witness to this. I won’t tell my drawn out story but, I know, my father hears my prayers. I know, my father, loves me. I know, my father will protect me from any harm. For I know, he is the only father I have and my love for him will endure forever and ever. Thank you for sharing this blog and the words of GOD.

Leave a Reply

